Contracted SRAs

Research teams, the Governance Group, and the Challenge Directorate have put considerable effort into developing research programmes that align with the challenge vision, mission, and objective and are consistent with the National Science Challenge principles of collaboration and co-creation. The five SRAs approved for funding to date span scales from the local/neighbourhood to the national. They are:

Shaping Place: Future Neighbourhoods

Co-ordinators: Errol Haarhoff (University of Auckland), Ella Henry (AUT); contractor: University of Auckland.

Supporting Success in Regional Settlements

Co-ordinators: Arthur Grimes (Motu), Mike McKay (Lincoln) and Harvey Perkins (People and Places); contractor: Motu Economic Public Policy and Research.

Transforming the Building Industry

Co-ordinators: Suzanne Wilkinson (University of Auckland), John Tookey (AUT), Casimir MacGregor (BRANZ); contractor: University of Auckland.

Next Generation Information for Better Outcomes

Co-ordinators: Simon Kingham (University of Canterbury), Lyn Carter (University of Otago), Ioannis Delikostidis (University of Canterbury), Vivienne Ivory (Opus); contractor: University of Canterbury.

Making the Architecture of Decisions Work for Better Homes, Towns and Cities

Co- ordinators: Kay Saville-Smith (CRESA), Larry Murphy (University of Auckland), Iain White (University of Waikato); contract holder: CRESA.

Short summary statements on each of these SRAs are on the Challenge website at

For all queries, please contact Ruth Berry, DDI: +64 4 238 1367, Mobile: +64 21 414 511

Share – Tuari

Date posted: 6 June 2017